Who Sinned?

John 9:1-7

I know I must have read this story many times without ‘hearing’ it. But I clearly remember the first time my ears were opened to it. I was preparing to teach the Sunday School lesson to a group of 3rd graders. My own girls were in other classes at the time.

It was the same week that something happened in my life that severely upset my Mother. She said to me, “Why have you done this terrible thing to me?”

Although I was extremely sorry to have hurt Mother, what happened was a far greater pain to me than to anyone else. I felt bewildered that Mother didn’t understand my distress. And yes, I also felt that I had somehow sinned. I cried out to God to help me to understand, to find solace, to know which direction to turn and what to do.

I disciplined myself to set aside my tormented grief and prepare the lesson. I prayed for God’s Holy Spirit to show me what was needed, and then I read these precious words from John 9: “His disciples asked Jesus, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” Jesus answered, “Neither this man nor his parents sinned; he was born blind so that God’s works might be revealed in him.”

These words of Jesus filled me with peace that day, with the assurance that whatever I was suffering was neither my fault nor my mother’s. I was filled with expectation that God had a purpose and a meaning for what was happening, and that God would work it out in God’s perfect time.

Even now, as I struggle with diminished vision, I continue to trust that God is working all things.

Image

This entry was posted in 40 Days of Lent II and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Sinned?

  1. Christine says:

    I really, really love this blog post. I especially love these verses. It helps me remember to grant grace to myself and others as we struggle. It’s nice to be reminded that my struggle isn’t “deserved” in such a way that it’s my fault–but that it IS “deserved” in such a way to glorify God and grow.

  2. Thank you very much, Christine.

Leave a Reply

