My Ring: I Am His

I still have my I.A.H. ring, which I wore for a number of years beginning in 1950.  Each Sunday while attending Nazareth Lutheran Church Sunday School, I received a colorful booklet published by David C. Cook in Elgin, Illinois.  This paper mentioned a special group called “The Charmed Life Circle” to which one could belong if one invited Jesus into their heart.

Well, I had invited Jesus into my heart when I was seven years old, and many times after that!   So I sent away my request to join this club, and soon received a packet of papers to read.  The pale green papers included many Bible verses explaining how to live faithfully for Jesus.  After reading through this material, I signed my promise to live always for Jesus first, and sent the papers back.

Soon I received a little package in the mail with my precious silver IAH ring enclosed.  Words and prayers for a little ceremony were included, which I read and prayed as I put the ring on my finger, repeating the deeply felt words, “I Am His”.  I knew that Jesus was with me always, as I was reminded every morning when I felt the ring on my finger.

Image

This entry was posted in 40 Days of Lent II and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My Ring: I Am His

  1. Robynne Sapp says:

    Beautiful story of your faith, RuthAnn. Neat you still have the ring.

  2. Lisa says:

    Hi RuthAnn, I am looking for an IAH ring for a friend who still tells the story of the one she received in Sunday School as a child.

    If you know of any leads, it would be deeply appreciated.
    Lisa

    • If I hear of one, I will let you know. It would be fun to connect with others who remember and/or have the ring.

    • Benna says:

      Hi Lisa, not sure if you will stumble across this in the next few days but there is an IAH ring, size 8 up for bids on Ebay. $15.00

    • My mom is in her 60s and has been talking about her IAH ring for years. I recently found one on eBay and ordered it. I would like to find a copy of the book or letters as well as information about the ceremony that we could possibly recreate for her. If you have that information, I’d love to have it even if it was just a picture of the letters or a detail you could remember about the ceremony. Thank you so much in helping bless my mother!

  3. Gerri says:

    Many years ago now, I too received an I.A.H. ring that changed my life in a big way. My Dad was a builder and our family had to move deep into the Appalachian mountains to build a new school
    I was in 5th grade and attended a one room school where each Friday a strange woman came to our school and taught us about Jerusalem, Jericho, and the Sea of Galilee. Soon I was stopping off after school on Wednesdays at her little parish where we had activities and began the studies to receive our I.A,H. Ring. I have never forgotten the feelings of touching that beautiful silver ring knowing that I was loved and had a source of support no matter what. I still have those weekly letters we received explaining our commitment to live our life believing in God. I lost my ring some years later while washing my hands at a rest stop on a family trip. We had driven too many miles to return to retrieve it when I realized it was gone. I grieved for it for many years until I realized that nothing could take this connection away. So I let it go and prayed that whoever found the ring would also be blessed by it.

    • Gerri, thank you for sharing your beautiful story and testimony. I still have the weekly letters, too. So precious, that most of all, we still have the love of knowing Jesus.

    • My mom is in her 60s and has been talking about her IAH ring for years. I recently found one on eBay and ordered it. I would like to find a copy of the book or letters as well as information about the ceremony that we could possibly recreate for her. If you have that information, I’d love to have it even if it was just a picture of the letters or a detail you could remember about the ceremony. Thank you so much in helping bless my mother!

  4. Joyce says:

    I, too, received a IAH ring in the mail and treasured it. It reminded me of Jesus every day. However, there are many scriptures that say we must be baptized and believe in Jesus. When we are baptized into Jesus Christ, it is being baptized into this death and resurrection, as well. Then, we are to follow Him and allow the Holy Spirit to guide our lives.

    • Joyce, thank you for sharing! Yes, of course we continue just as you have said. Blessings to you!

    • My mom is in her 60s and has been talking about her IAH ring for years. I recently found one on eBay and ordered it. I would like to find a copy of the book or letters as well as information about the ceremony that we could possibly recreate for her. If you have that information, I’d love to have it even if it was just a picture of the letters or a detail you could remember about the ceremony. Thank you so much in helping bless my mother!

  5. Benna says:

    About 40 years ago, my mother gave me her IAH ring and letters. I still remember her telling me about accepting Jesus as her personal Savior and how much she enjoyed the letters. These items became part of my treasure box collection. I now have a 9 yr old daughter and last year passed the ring on to her. Next year, we will begin to read the letters together. My grandmother passed away in 2006 and I inherited another IAH ring. Although I don’t know the details of why she had one or if they were available when she was a child, I like to imagine her accepting Jesus into her heart and treasuring the letters that were sent. I wish they would remarket the rings or come up with something similar…..a wonderful way to share your faith.

    • Thank you, Benna, for sharing your precious memories with me and with your daughter. What a wonderful thing it is that we are all part of the family of God through Jesus Christ.

    • My mom is in her 60s and has been talking about her IAH ring for years. I recently found one on eBay and ordered it. I would like to find a copy of the book or letters as well as information about the ceremony that we could possibly recreate for her. If anyone has that information, I’d love to have it even if it was just a picture of the letters or a detail you could remember about the ceremony. Thank you so much in helping bless my mother!

Leave a Reply

