Battered Child

I see you, battered child,

As you pick up the chair and

Hurl it through the window,

As you have been hurled.

I see your broken fingers,

Blue bruises on your arms and face,

And your back is covered,

Covered with half-healed scars.

You are hurt, and my tears flow

As I feel you suffering.

You are in distress. You seek relief,

You seek comfort, and mercy.

I lift you up, carefully,

As I call for help.

I hold you close, and pray

That you rest from your pain.

Image

This entry was posted in 40 Days of Lent II. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

