Enough

Is there enough food?
I see bloated bellies of children
in Sudan and South Chicago.
I see the old man standing
at my intersection with a sign.
I see Tent City and the
blue plastic homeless shelters.

Is there enough time?
I hear the phone reminding me
of the IRS date on my calendar.
I hear the alarm clock set
for early lab tests at the clinic.
I hear a toddler voice changing to baritone
in what seems like a moment.

Is there enough clean water?
I smell the toxic waste in that stream
that used to run clear.
I smell the pollution of the mill,
and the car exhaust.
I smell smoke
from a thousand poisonous sources.

Is there enough love?
I hold the battered child in my arms
and wipe her tears.
I hold the elderly grandmother
and promise it’s going to be OK.
I hold out my hand,
and trust God’s promises:

”Bring the full tithe into the storehouse,
so that there may be food in my house,
and thus put me to the test,
says the LORD of hosts;

see if I will not open the windows of heaven
for you
and pour down for you
an overflowing blessing.”

Malachi 3:10 –

Image

This entry was posted in 40 Days of Lent II and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Enough

  1. Larry Morris says:

    See if I will not open ….. I love how this ends! Thanks RuthAnn

  2. RuthAnn,
    Brilliant piece on social justice!

Leave a Reply

