Learning Lessons of Love

Valentine boxes in second grade, pasted hearts smeared with lace;

Classmates skip around the classroom, delivering silly sayings:

Roses are red, Violets are blue.  You’re so ugly you should be in the zoo.

Valentine exchanges in fifth grade, budding moods of puberty;

Recognizing the loneliness of not being known, not understood;

I hide in the woods; unseen tears falling in the moss.

Sophomore dances with clumsy feet and poodle skirts,

I sit along the wall wishing to be seen, to not be seen.

Does anyone like me?  Does everyone not?

Longing to know and be known, to be understood.

The price must be paid, who knows what it costs?

Who loves me?  Who loves me not?

God speaks through Jeremiah 31:3 saying:
“Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love;
Therefore I have drawn you with lovingkindness.”

This sacred gift from God is God’s own longing,

God’s own knowing and understanding of me,

Calling me to know and love another.

Image

This entry was posted in 40 Days of Lent II and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning Lessons of Love

  1. Sheryl says:

    The poem is wonderful. I especially enjoyed the vivid word pictures created for the school years. .

Leave a Reply

