53 Years of New Year’s Days

January 1, 2013

Fifty-three years ago today, January 1, 1970, I began my tradition of spending New Year’s Day meditating and praying for God’s leading, wisdom and grace.  That day in 1970, my biggest prayer was to meet someone who truly loved God and followed Christ.  I was going through a dark time of doubting, wondering if anything I had been taught about God was true.  I had decided I had to know the TRUTH, because I did not want to live a lie.  I was amazed and blessed when God answered that prayer in a most astonishing, compelling and convincing way.  That story has been told by me elsewhere.  Every year since then, God has answered me in astonishing ways, and I am expecting to hear from God.

Today I am once again reading, thinking, meditating and praying for God’s presence and leading.  I drove to Anacortes and walked a labyrinth as part of my afternoon.  It came to me in the labyrinth that I am waiting.  I am waiting for renewed strength, renewed direction, renewed hope, renewed relationships, renewed vision.  Waiting is an active time of openness to what God is preparing for me, it is a strong hope in hearing from God.

Now I am home, resting in the Lord, and learning again to wait.   Isaiah 40:31  “But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint”

“When you’re waiting, you’re not doing nothing. You’re doing the most important something there is. You’re allowing your soul to grow up. If you can’t be still and wait, you can’t become what God created you to be.’”  Larissa Peters

Lord, hear my prayer.

Image

This entry was posted in My True Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 53 Years of New Year’s Days

  1. Sheryl says:

    What a wonderful new year’s tradition! It’s so true that waiting is very different from doing nothing.

  2. Yes, and I enjoy the expectancy, too. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

