Shortcuts Hurt in the Labyrinth

I walked three different labyrinths on Sunday (yesterday).  I entered the first one with this question, “Lord, what do you want me to learn today?”  I am still trying to process the way I heard the answer.

When I was nearly finished walking the first labyrinth of the day, I started to take a shortcut so I could be finished.  My prayer-thoughts had been interrupted by my awareness of time passing and wanting to be on my way.  I stopped listening for answers.

As soon as I realized what I was doing, and it was nearly instantly, I made myself stop, take a prayerful breath, and continue on the path.  And I realized that this might be the lesson I was to learn today.

When I left home, I had a plan to visit three labyrinths, all of them some miles apart.  But I also have a growing sense of the way walking a labyrinth can bring peace, or questions, or answers.

Was this day’s lesson about taking shortcuts?  Had taking shortcuts been harmful?  To whom?  If so, when and where had I done this?  And what can I do about it now?

While walking the second labyrinth, I purposefully slowed my pace, and made sure I continued all the way through, into the labyrinth and return.  As I walked, I pondered.

It was an hour drive to my third labyrinth of the day, the most beautiful one I have ever seen.  As I paused at the entrance, I breathed a prayer, “Show me, Lord.  Slow me, Lord.”  I entered, circled, walked and turned, completing the 11 circuits on the way to the center.  In the center, I waited, then slowly retraced my steps all the way out of the labyrinth.

Thank you, Lord, for teaching me to wait.

This entry was posted in My True Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shortcuts Hurt in the Labyrinth

  1. Sheryl says:

    This post is a good reminder about how much can be lost when rushing and not taking the time needed to appreciate things. How did you find the labyrinths? Is there a website that lists them by geographic area?

  2. Thanks, Sheryl. Here is a link to a labyrinth finder: http://labyrinthlocator.com/
    Are there any near you?

  3. Angela says:

    I had the same question Sheryl had. Thank you for sharing the labyrinth locator.

  4. Angela says:

    It is a pleasure. I am on summer break so you can expect me to stop by more often. 🙂

Leave a Reply

