Stamped for Opportunity

After 3 years of depression I opened the monthly newsletter and saw an invitation to exchange homes and jobs for a year.  My first thought was “that would be impossible!”  My second thought was, “Why not?”  And so I cut out the little ad, wrote the address on an envelope and stamped it.  I walked it right out to the mailbox and dropped it in.  Now it was too late to take it back.

I left for work and didn’t give it another thought.  Then one day when I came home from work and opened the mailbox, there was a thick package waiting for me.  I opened it and discovered I had been accepted to apply for an exchange to the other side of the United States.

I had never been on the other side of the Mississippi.  I imagined nothing but blacktop and smokestacks.  But now that I had all the paperwork in my hands, I realized this was not only an opportunity to experience life in another part of the country, it may be the answer to my prayers.

I had been fervently praying for God to show me what was next in my life, after the recent loss of all my hopes and dreams.  So OK, God!  Let’s see what this opportunity has in store for me.  I began to pack for my drive across the country from the rural Seattle area to urban Philadelphia.

And a new chapter of my life began.

Image

Next Chapter:  Trust For The Journey

This entry was posted in My True Stories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stamped for Opportunity

  1. Dear RuthAnn, How interesting, hope you continue to tell your story. Blessings, Ellen

  2. Thanks, Ellen. I plan to continue, but my writing is often in response to a “prompt of the day” and I I do not know what will come to mind until I begin!

  3. DyAnn Dennie says:

    RuthAnn, just as I think I know you, there is more to learn, ponder, inspire and admire. Had no idea about Philidelphia. Looking forward to more. Thanks for sharing.

  4. DyAnn, thanks for the comments. I want to know you better, too.

  5. Marian says:

    Very interesting. I want to hear more of the story. Please continue as you can.

  6. Thank you for your encouragement and comments. I will continue my story every once in awhile! But it will probably not be sequential… !

Leave a Reply

