Thou Shall Not Covet? #35

This morning’s writing prompt is “Pick one of the 10 commandments and write about it – how does it resonate with your life?”

Thinking about this prompt led me to read through the Ten Commandments in Exodus 20.  Verse 17 reads as follows:  “You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, or male or female slave, or ox, or donkey, or anything that belongs to your neighbor.”

You shall not covet.  My dictionary definition says:  “to desire wrongfully …” To want something for which I have no right.

Have no right?  Then isn’t lying, stealing, or committing adultery really based in wanting something for which I have no right?  Could it mean that wanting something for which I have no right would even be putting that ‘thing’ or “power” before God, thereby breaking the commandment “thou shall have no other gods”? Maybe coveting is the root of breaking all the commandments?

Gracious and merciful God, show me the ways in which I have desired anything that is not in your holy will.  Forgive me, I pray.  Help me to desire only that which you desire for me. In Jesus name, Amen. Image

This entry was posted in 40 Days of Lent and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

