Is God Calling you? #31

What is God calling me to do? As a child, I first heard this question at age 8 in Sunday School, when a missionary gave a slide presentation of her mission to India. God was calling me to be a missionary! In the next few years I thought about being a pastor (couldn’t do that as I am a girl), a doctor (couldn’t do that because I am a girl), and then a nurse (because I thought that was close to being a doctor).

But I didn’t answer those calls.

What was God calling me to do? When my children were in school, I became a teacher. I believe God called me to teaching, but like Moses I spent time in the wilderness before I heard that call. God blessed my years of teaching in many ways, as I traveled the world, teaching not only in Washington and Pennsylvania, but also in Congo, Bolivia, Poland, and China.

I did answer those calls.

What is God calling me to do? I have known people who agonize over this question, believing they need to hear something very specific from God. I have known others who perhaps don’t even ask this question. I have come to believe the question is very important, yet quite simple.

I hear answers in God’s word in Micah 6:8b and Matthew 22:37-39. Micah 6:8b says, “…what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?” In Matthew 22:37-39 Jesus says, “’You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the greatest and first commandment. And a second is like it: ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’”

God calls us, and today I answer in the words of a friend, “I leave this moment with you, God, counting myself blessed that you would choose to make me the person I am and love me into the person I am becoming. Amen.”

Image

Spirit in the Desert Labyrinth, 7415 East Elbow Bend Road, Carefree, AZ 85377

This entry was posted in 40 Days of Lent and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is God Calling you? #31

  1. You’ve perhaps read Agnes Sanford and Margaret Silf and the concept of “Sealed Orders”; that is, participating in spiritual discipline to discover what it is that God has designed you to do? I find that comforting. The notion is that exercising spiritual disciplines are a way of moving towards the things that give you life and joy and THAT’s the indication that you’re discovering what it is that God designed you for.

    • Mark, Thank you. And Yes, I have found Agnes Sanford good. I have not read Margaret Silf, but I jusdt Googled and I see she has written many interesting things. Why have I not heard of her? I have found Richard Foster very helpful. Do you read him?

Leave a Reply

