Mother’s Evening Prayers #17

My mother always tucked us in at bedtime.  No matter how tired Mother must have been some evenings after chores, she never failed to come to my bed and tuck the covers around me.  Then she would fold my hands, close her eyes, and pray the Lord’s Prayer with me.

After the Amen, she would sing these two songs.  I have since looked them up and discovered the first one is called “Evening Prayer”, written by Jim Reeves.  Here are the words:

If I have wounded some poor soul today,

If I have caused one foot to go astray,

If I have walked in my own willful way,

Dear Lord, forgive.

If I have uttered idle words in vain,

If I have turned aside from want or pain,

Lest I offend some other through the strain,

Dear Lord, forgive.

Forgive these sins I have confessed to Thee,

Forgive the secret sins I do not see,

Guide me, love me and my keeper be,

Dear Lord, forgive…

The second one was written in 1924 by Harry Clarke, a Welsh song leader for Evangelist Billy Sunday.  The words go like this:

Into my heart, into my heart,

Come into my heart, Lord Jesus.

Come in today; come in to stay.

Come into my heart, Lord Jesus.

I can still hear my Mother’s voice singing these two evening songs.

Image

This entry was posted in 40 Days of Lent and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mother’s Evening Prayers #17

  1. Chris says:

    What a beautiful remembrance, RuthAnn!

Leave a Reply

