Purple Significance

Friday, March 7, 2014

Often, during Lent, holy pieces on the altar are draped in a purple cloth.  What can you drape in a cloth, physically or mentally, during Lent to help you focus on your spiritual journey? What is the significance of this for you?

I know someone who actually has a large cross which she drapes with purple as her prayer center during the season of Lent.  As I read this prompt for today, I remember the “virtuous woman” of Proverbs 31.  It is stated that “She makes herself coverings; her clothing is fine linen and purple.”

 As I pictured her, clothing herself, I recalled the Scripture from Isaiah 61:10a, where we read, “I will greatly rejoice in the Lord, my whole being shall exult in my God; for he has clothed me with the garments of salvation, he has covered me with the robe of righteousness.”

I will focus on that robe of righteousness with which Christ has clothed me, as I sing the 4th verse of “My Hope is Built on Nothing Less”by Edward Mote, 1797-1874.

4. When He shall come with trumpet sound,

Oh, may I then in Him be found,

Clothed in His righteousness alone,

Faultless to stand before the throne!

On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;

All other ground is sinking sand.

Image

Image

This entry was posted in Welcome. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Purple Significance

  1. Sheryl says:

    This post reminds me how much I enjoyed watching for the changing liturgical colors with the different seasons when I went to church when I was a child.

Leave a Reply

